Tambuwal Swears Commissioners, Assigns Portfolios


By Abdallah el-Kurebe 

Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal of Sokoto State, Monday evening tasked newly-sworn-in commissioners to see themselves as servants of the people and shun all acts that would be inimical to the unity and progress of the state.

Held without prior notice, fanfare and in a near-empty hall at the Government House, the event was held in a sombre mood as a respect to Sokoto pilgrims that died during this year’s Hajj.

Tambuwal also urged the commissioners to emulate the honesty, commitment and patriotism of President Muhammadu Buhari in order to realise the laudable aims and objectives of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

“Progress can only be achieved if the appointees consider all issues on merit, and avoid nepotism, bigotry and selfish conducts,” he said.

Reminding them that the era of impunity in government was over, Tambuwal also said that the people gave APC their mandates during the last election so that past wrongs would be done away with.‎ “They voted us to see their lives improved; to see their children enjoy good education, and to see Sokoto among the best states in the country,” he added.

Commissioners sworn in and their portfolios are: Deputy Governor, Ahmad Aliyu will oversee Ministry of Works; Alhaji Sahabi Gada (Higher Education); Umar Tambuwal (Agriculture) and Saidu Umar (Finance).

Others include Abdulkadir Jeli, commissioner of information; Muhammad Arzika Tureta, Water Resources; Jabbi Kilgore, Basic Education; Abdullahi Maigwandu, Rural Development while Sirajo Gatawa will head Social Welfare ministry.

The rest are Tukur Alkali (Animal Health); Mani Maishinku, (Religious Affairs); Bello Sifawa, (Environment); Bello Gwiwa, (Lands and Housing); Sulaiman Usman, (Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice); Nasiru Zarummai, (Science and Technology) and Isah Sadiq Achida (Home Affairs).

Similarly, Aminu Bello Sokoto will take charge in Commerce ministry, Bala Kokani (ministry of Budget and Economic Planning), Bello Goronyo (Solid minerals), Manir Dan’Iya (Local Government), Kulu abdullahi (Women Affairs), Dr. Balarabe Kakale (Health) and Musa Ausa (Youth and Sports.)

Posted by Abdallah el-kurebe